Wilderness Trail - Single Barrel Rye

This was part of my Healthy Spirits SF whiskey club a few years ago. I've been sitting on the last 1/3 of it for a long time and tonight felt like the right time for a review as I sit here trying to build a new website.

Whiskey Name

Rank: 7

Nose: You get some of the booze on the nose. It's a sharp smell but not a harsh one. Cinnamon, spice, resin, pine. 

Taste: Honey, butter, cinnamon stick, tobacco

Body: Round & Rich. Completely coats and becomes quite viscous. 

Finish: Spicy and sizzling. Mouth is on 🔥.

---

Overall: It's a great whiskey but not one that I particularly want to drink every night. I'd recommend it to someone if they like rye but won't buy another for myself. 


Bottle Info

  • Distiller: Wilderness Trail Distillery
  • Location: Danville, KY
  • Brand: Wilderness Trail Single Barrel Kentucky Straight Rye
  • Barrel No: ISA1720C
  • ABV: 57.5%

⚖️ Grading Scale

1 | Disgusting - Gutter water.

2 | Poor - Drain pour.

3 | Bad - Only mixed with something.

4 | Sub-par - I don't hate it, but won't buy it again.

5 | Average - Just fine.

6 | Good - A good everyday whiskey.

7 | Great - Will become a regular.

8 | Excellent - Special occasion whiskey. 

9 | Incredible - Buying all the bottles I can find and/or afford. 

10 | Perfect - Drinking this on my wedding night.