Russell's Reserve - 6yr Rye

I bought this whiskey on a lark this past Saturday. Russel's Reserve plays what seems like an outsized role in foundational whiskey lists and I'd never tried it. It was on sale for $40 (marked down from $60) and it seemed like now was the time. A fun fact that I didn't actually know until I read the fine print while doing this review is that it is a Wild Turkey product.

Russell's Reserve - 6yr Rye

Rank: 5

Nose: First smell is sharp, spicy, and nutty. Not unlike my cat. There is also a sweetness that comes through at the end. I suppose we can extend the cat metaphor here as well.

Taste: A well-rounded taste. The spice from the rye is present but not overwhelming. It is somewhat nutty with almond out in front.

Body: The whiskey coats the mouth and sticks around. It is a bit oily, but not in a bad way. More that it fills your whole mouth rather than just sticking to your tongue. That felt like a weird sentence to write, I hope it was also a weird sentence to read.

Finish: Stays hot on the breath, but isn't really a turn off. Get a little burn back up through the nose from the spice, which is welcome. The last thing to leave is the numbing spice from the rye.

---

Overall: I like it. It isn't the best whiskey I've had but not the worst. It is middle of the road. I would have another and would keep it in my bar for a Tuesday night. Not serving on a Saturday though.


Bottle Info

  • Distiller: Wild Turkey
  • Bottler: Wild Turkey
  • Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
  • Brand: Russell's Reserve
  • ABV: 45
  • Age: 6 years

⚖️ Grading Scale

1 | Disgusting - Gutter water.

2 | Poor - Drain pour.

3 | Bad - Only mixed with something.

4 | Sub-par - I don't hate it, but won't buy it again.

5 | Average - Just fine.

6 | Good - A good everyday whiskey.

7 | Great - Will become a regular.

8 | Excellent - Special occasion whiskey. 

9 | Incredible - Buying all the bottles I can find and/or afford. 

10 | Perfect - Drinking this on my wedding night.